This article provides an overview of the Union territories of India, which are unique administrative divisions with special status. Unlike states, they are directly governed by the Union Government of India. Let’s explore their history and current status.

Union Territories of India

key points:

  1. India is a federal union comprising 28 states and 8 union territories, making a total of 36 entities.
  2. The states and union territories are further subdivided into districts and smaller administrative divisions.
  3. Each state has its own state government, while union territories are governed by the Union Government.
  4. The article also discusses the historical background of administrative divisions in India, dating back to the time of the British Indian Empire.
  5. The reorganization of states in India has occurred over time based on linguistic lines, resulting in the creation of new states.
Union Territories of India || 8 union territories of india || states and union territories of india

list of all states of India


When the Constitution of India was adopted in 1949, it included Part C states and Part D states. Part C states were chief commissioners’ provinces and princely states governed by chief commissioners appointed by the President. Part D had only one state, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, administered by a lieutenant governor. In 1956, the States Reorganisation Act merged Part C and Part D states into a single category called “Union territory.” Over the years, new territories were formed and merged, leading to the current eight Union territories.

Current Union Territories: As of 2023, India has eight Union territories:

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  2. Chandigarh
  3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
  4. Delhi (National Capital Territory)
  5. Jammu and Kashmir
  6. Ladakh
  7. Lakshadweep
  8. Puducherry


Union territories are governed by administrators or lieutenant governors appointed by the President. Delhi, Puducherry, and Jammu and Kashmir have partially state-like functions, with elected legislative assemblies and executive councils of ministers. Others are directly ruled by the Union government.

Constitutional Status:

The Constitution of India provides special status to Union territories. Article 1 states that India is a “Union of States,” and Article 366(30) defines Union territory as any specified in the First Schedule. The President of India is the chief administrator of Union territories. Some territories have representation in the Rajya Sabha (upper house of Parliament) and have locally elected legislative assemblies with a Chief Minister.

Current Statistics:

Here are some key statistics of the current Union territories:

Union TerritoryCapitalLargest CityPopulationArea (km2)
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort BlairPort Blair380,5818,249
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuDamanSilvassa587,106603
Delhi (NCT)New DelhiDelhi16,787,9411,484
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer), Jammu (Winter)Srinagar12,258,43342,241
LadakhLeh (Summer), Kargil (Winter)Leh290,49259,146
8 union territories of India

Conclusion: Union territories play a significant role in India’s governance, offering unique administrative setups and cultural diversities. Some territories have transformed into states, while others continue to be governed directly by the Union Government. The Constitution provides these territories with special rights and status, making them an integral part of India’s political landscape.

States and union territories of India

9 union territories of India is true ?

India has a total of 8 Union Territories and 28 states. The Union territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu were combined as one single union territory on 26th January 2020. Ladakh was separated from Jammu and Kashmir and created as a separate Union Territory.

list of union territories of india

Union Territories:
Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (merged)
Delhi (National Capital Territory)
Jammu and Kashmir (now divided into Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh)

What are the union territories of India?

India has 8 Union Territories. Here is the list of the Union Territories of India:
Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (merged)
Delhi (National Capital Territory of Delhi)
Jammu and Kashmir
Please note that the status of Union Territories can change over time due to government decisions or administrative reorganizations. It’s always a good idea to check for the most up-to-date information to ensure accuracy.

how many union territories of india ?

India has 8 Union Territories.

Similar Posts